Gluten-Free Beignets Recipe (Just Like Disney World!) - Gluten-Free Baking (2024)


Perfect Gluten-Free Beignets! Just like the ones they serve at Port Orleans in Walt Disney World. These are perfect for Mardi Gras. Recipe is gluten-free, egg-free, and dairy-free.

Gluten-Free Beignets Recipe (Just Like Disney World!) - Gluten-Free Baking (1)

Do you have a recipe for gluten-free beignets?

This question arrived by email a few days ago and…I felt bad. Because a recipe for gluten-free beignets has been sitting in my computer for, oh, several years now. No joke. Several years.

It was one of those recipes I kept meaning to finish. And never did.

I didn’t even have a good excuse. (Is there ever a good excuse for procrastination? Nope. There isn’t.)

This wasn’t even a recipe I started from a blank page, which is how I start all my recipes unless someone asks me to adapt a family favorite.

Not this time.

A few years ago, Port Orleans at Walt Disney World in Florida introduced gluten-free beignets. They’re amazing. Not only are they gluten-free, but they’re also dairy-free and egg-free. And you’d never know.

During one visit, the Chef gave me the recipe. It used several pounds of gluten-free flour. It was an excellent recipe but…for the home baker, it needed a little tweaking. So I tweaked and never got around to finishing it.

Until now.

Gluten-Free Beignets Recipe (Just Like Disney World!) - Gluten-Free Baking (2)

Gluten-Free Beignets: Important Ingredients

The Gluten-Free Mix

The original recipe called for Bob’s Red Mill Pizza Mix. Since gluten-free mixes vary from brand to brand, to get the right results, you need to use a specific mix. (Please note: I have no idea if this is still the mix Disney uses for their beignets.) The pizza mix does a great job giving these beignets the right texture. If you replace the mix with another brand or your own blend, I can’t say whether or not the recipe will work.

The Egg-Replacement

Not only is this recipe gluten-free, but it’s also dairy-free and egg-free. Since I don’t routinely create egg-free recipes, this isn’t an ingredient that I keep in my pantry. So I tested it with the egg replacer and without. The beignets are better with. So, yes, you do need to buy a bag.

The Apple Juice and Applesauce

This recipe uses both apple juice and applesauce. They add a subtle sweetness to the beignets. When the beignets are freshly fried, I think you can detect a slight apple flavor. However, these beignets don’t taste like apple doughnuts. Select unsweetened apple juice and applesauce.

The Tools You Need to Make Gluten-Free Beignets

In addition to the standard tools required for baking (mixing bowls, mixer), you’ll also need a few specific tools when making beignets.

  1. A Fryer or Heavy Pot. These beignets require frying. They don’t work well when baked. (for more information on that, see below.) Use either a deep fat fryer or a heavy bottomed pot filled with two inches of oil.
  2. A Deep Fat Thermometer. It’s important to fry beignets, or any food for that matter, at the correct temperature. If the oil is too hot, the beignets can burn on the outside and be raw in the center. And if the oil is too cold, they’ll absorb cooking oil and turn out greasy and heavy. Maintain a temperature of 365 degrees F. Fry only 3-4 beignets at a time. Frying more than that causes the oil temperature to drop.
  3. Parchment Paper. This dough needs to rise between two sheets of parchment paper. The parchment prevents a skin from forming on the dough. If the surface of the dough dries out while rising, the beignets won’t puff.
  4. A Wire Skimmer. To safely remove the fried beignets from the hot oil, use a metal skimmer. It doesn’t hold on to hot oil the way a slotted spoon can. So you’re less likely to burn yourself.
  5. Paper Towels. Line a baking sheet with paper towels and set it next to your fryer. When you remove the beignets from the oil, place them onto the baking sheet. The paper towels absorb excess oil from the surface of the beignets.

Gluten-Free Beignets Recipe (Just Like Disney World!) - Gluten-Free Baking (3)

How to Make Gluten-Free Beignets

Here’s the step-by-step for how to make beignets.

  1. Prepare the Dough. This dough, like all my gluten-free bread doughs, is thick. But it’s a bit thicker than say, my gluten-free sandwich bread or soft dinner rolls. A stand mixer fitted with the flat paddle attachment is the best way to mix this dough.
  2. Roll and Cover. After mixing the dough, transfer it to a white rice floured counter. Knead the dough a few times. You want the dough firm enough to knead but soft enough where it doesn’t crumble or break apart. Pat thedough into a round and cut in half. Dust a piece of parchment paper with white rice flour. Dust the top of the dough. Cover with a second piece of parchment paper. Roll dough out to 1/4-inch thickness. Do not roll the dough thinner than this or it won’t puff. Repeat with the second piece of dough.
  3. Allow to Rise. This thin dough doesn’t rise too much but it does rise a bit. Place the dough in a warm spot. When the dough looks a bit puffy and feels slightly warm to the touch, it’s ready to fry.
  4. Cut. The key for gluten-free beignets is to get the sizing right. Cut the dough with a sharp knife into 2×3 inch pieces. A sharp knife is key. If the edge is ragged, the beignets might not puff during frying.
  5. Fry. Heat oil to 365 degrees F. Gently placethree to four beignets into the oil. Fry until golden brown. Halfway during frying, carefully turn the beignets over.
  6. Drain. No one wants a greasy beignet! As soon as they come out of the fryer, place the beignets on a paper towel-lined baking sheet.
  7. Toss in Powdered Sugar. After the beignets have drained for a minute or two, toss with powdered sugar.

Gluten-Free Beignets Recipe (Just Like Disney World!) - Gluten-Free Baking (4)


What’s the best oil to use for frying beignets?

I like vegetable oil for frying these.

Can I Bake the Beignets?

Nope! Unless you want flat, sad beignets. Take a look at the baked beignets versus fried.

Gluten-Free Beignets Recipe (Just Like Disney World!) - Gluten-Free Baking (5)

My beignets didn’t puff! What happened?

Urgh. This is frustrating. I’m sorry this happened. Here are some possible causes

  1. The dough was too dry. If the dough is too dry, it won’t rise or puff during frying. You want the dough firm enough to knead but not so dry that it breaks apart or feels tough when you roll it. A good way to know if your dough was too dry is to look at it while it fries. You shouldn’t see bubbles of oil breaking through the frying beignet.
  2. A skin formed on the beignet. It’s important to allow this dough to rise between two pieces of parchment paper. And while you’re frying, keep the dough covered. If it forms a skin, the beignets won’t puff.
  3. The dough was rolled to thin or too thick. Beignets that have been rolled too thin don’t have enough dough to puff when fried. And…beignets that have been rolled too thick (over 1/4 inch) are often too dense to puff. Roll that dough out to 1/4 inch. Use a ruler to check the thickness. I always do!
  4. The oil was too cold. Oil temperature is key. If the oil was too cold, the beignets won’t puff.
  5. You baked them. See above.

Gluten-Free Beignets

Perfect Gluten-Free Beignets. Just like the ones served at Walt Disney World. Perfect for Mardi Gras.

Note: This beignet recipe is very specific. Replacing any of the ingredients--including the flour-- can alter the results.

recipe adapted from Port Orleans at Walt Disney World Resort

Prep Time 10 minutes

Rise 1 hour

Total Time 1 hour 10 minutes

Servings 24 beignets


  • 1bagBob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Pizza Mix
  • 1/2cupwarm water
  • 1/4cupgranulated sugar
  • 2 1/2teaspoonsBob’s Red Mill Egg Replacer
  • 1teaspoonbaking powder
  • 1/4teaspoonsalt
  • 1/2cupapple juice
  • 1/2cupapplesauce
  • 2teaspoonsapple cider vinegar
  • White rice flour for dusting
  • Oil for frying
  • 1poundPowdered sugar


  1. Remove the yeast packet from the pizza mix. Whisk the yeast and warm water together in the bowl of a stand mixer. Allow to stand for five minutes.

  2. Whisk together the pizza mix, granulated sugar, egg replacer, baking powder, and salt in a large mixing bowl.

  3. Add the whisked flour mixture, apple juice, applesauce, and vinegar to the yeast mixture. Fit the mixer with the flat paddle attachment. Mix dough until smooth, about three minutes. If dough is dry, add an additional tablespoon of water.

  4. Dust counter with white rice flour. Turn dough out onto the counter. Knead a few times. Pat dough into a disk. Cut in half. Dust a 12x18 piece of parchment paper with white rice flour. Place the dough in the center of the parchment paper. Dust the top of the dough with white rice flour. Cover the dough with a second piece of parchment paper. Roll dough out into 1/4 inch thickness. Do not roll the dough thinner than this or it won’t puff. Repeat with the second piece of dough.

  5. Allow dough to rise until puffy, about one hour. (Keep it covered between the parchment paper as it rises.)

  6. Heat 2 inches of vegetable oil to 365 degrees F. Place a rimmed baking sheet near the fryer. Line it with two layers of paper towels.

  7. Remove the top piece of parchment paper from one piece of dough. Cut the dough with a sharp knife into 2x3 inch pieces. (A sharp knife is key. If the edge is ragged, the beignets might not puff during frying.)

  8. Gently place 3-4 beignets into the oil. (Cover remaining dough while you fry.) Fry until golden brown. Halfway during frying, carefully turn the beignets over.

  9. Place the fried beignets on a paper towel-lined baking sheet to drain.

  10. Toss in powdered sugar. After the beignets have drained for a minute or two, toss with powdered sugar.

Gluten-Free Beignets Recipe (Just Like Disney World!) - Gluten-Free Baking (2024)


Does gluten-free flour bake differently? ›

Gluten-free flours often contain fine starches, so they absorb more liquid than conventional flour. To address this, gluten-free recipes usually call for more liquid and produce looser batters. They may also call for a larger quantity of leavening, like baking powder, to help add volume and lighten the texture.

What are Disney beignets made of? ›

The recipe calls for 11 ingredients, many of which are household staples. You'll need dry yeast, sugar, vegetable oil, and heavy cream, as well as water, vegetable shortening, salt, and an egg. It also requires flour, boiled water, and powdered sugar.

Does Cafe du Monde have gluten free beignets? ›

No, our beignets are not gluten free.

What brand of gluten-free rolls does Disney use? ›

Restaurants at Disney World use several brands of gluten free dinner rolls, hamburger buns and bread, including Deanna's Gluten Free, Local Oven, Ener-G, and Udi's. When heated well, Deanna's Gluten Free dinner rolls and hamburger buns are my favorite, because they have the best taste and texture.

Are the beignets at Port Orleans gluten-free? ›

Yes, Scat Cat's Club – Cafe at Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter has gluten-free beignets! When you arrive, walk up to the counter and ask for the gluten-free beignets, and they will ask you what dipping sauce you want. And yes, the sauces are gluten-free.

What is the closest gluten-free flour to all-purpose flour? ›

Brown rice flour is about as close to a 1:1 substitute for all-purpose flour as it gets since it provides structure and a “wheat-like” flavor.

What are the disadvantages of gluten-free flour? ›

Keep in mind that some processed gluten-free foods contain high amounts of unhealthy ingredients such as sodium, sugar and fat. Consuming these foods can lead to weight gain, blood sugar swings, high blood pressure and other problems. So, a gluten-free label doesn't necessarily make a food healthy.

What is the trick to using gluten-free flour? ›

2 teaspoons of baking powder per cup of gluten-free flour is necessary to ensure proper leavening. Baking soda and buttermilk can be used to leaven instead of baking powder, but 1-1/8 teaspoon of cream of tartar should be added for each 1/2 teaspoon baking soda used.

Where can I buy Mickey beignets? ›

Swing by Scat Cat's Club – Café for tasty beignets and coffee beverages. It's always time for dessert! Enjoy a Disney spin on a classic dish with these Mickey-shaped beignets. Immerse yourself in atmosphere of Disney's Port Orleans Resort – French Quarter while you enjoy tasty treats from Scat Cat's Club – Café.

What is the name of the dough in beignets? ›

Beignet (/ˈbɛnjeɪ/ BEN-yay, also US: /beɪnˈjeɪ, bɛnˈjeɪ/ bayn-YAY, ben-YAY, French: [bɛɲɛ]; lit. 'bump') is a type of fritter, or deep-fried pastry, made from pâte à choux, but may also be made from other types of dough, including yeast dough.

What is the difference between French beignets and New Orleans beignets? ›

New Orleans beignets are different from the classic French beignet in that they are made with yeast to help the dough rise. French beignets, meanwhile, are a choux pastry, a pastry that relies on moisture content instead of yeast to facilitate rising. Today, beignets are considered the official donut of Louisiana.

What kind of flour does Cafe Du Monde use? ›

A yeast dough will produce a lighter and sweeter beignet than a basic white flour dough, which many recipes recommend. Cafe du Monde uses multiple flours in their mix, including rye flour, and they aren't willing to share the exact mix and proportions in their recipe.

What oil does Cafe Du Monde use for beignets? ›

We use cottonseed oil at the Cafe Du Monde, and we recommend you use cottonseed oil. However you may use any vegetable oil you wish. Remember that the temperature of the oil will drop when you add the beignet dough to the oil.

What is so special about Cafe Du Monde? ›

It is a New Orleans landmark and tourist destination, known for its café au lait and beignets. Its coffee with chicory is widely available in the continental United States.

Where can I buy GF beignets at Disney World? ›

Where to find the Gluten Free Beignets. Find the Gluten Free Beignets at Port Orleans Resort French Quarter, in Scat Cat's Club Cafe, or Scat Cat's Lounge. You can order them from the Cafe all day, or for adults, at the Lounge in the evenings. Club Hours: Morning through Evening, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Late Night ...

Are Disney Rice Krispie treats gluten-free? ›

Disney Parks Rice Krispies Treats are made with Kellogg's Rice Krispies Cereal, which is not gluten free, because it contains malt flavoring. The malt flavoring in Rice Krispies is barley malt, which is not stated on the label, making this product a confusing one for celiacs.

Where can I get gluten free churros in Disney? ›

Churros. Yes, you can get gluten-free churros at Disney World! However, they aren't in an obvious location. Head to Nomad Lounge & co*cktail Bar in Animal Kingdom.

Is Disney soft serve gluten-free? ›

There are so many dining options and snack offerings that I like to say that Disney now doubles as an Eat Park, too! I've looked in to this, and I'm happy to report that most of the individual flavors of DOLE SOFT SERVE® that you can currently find at Walt Disney World Resort are both dairy and gluten free.

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Kerri Lueilwitz

Last Updated:

Views: 5916

Rating: 4.7 / 5 (47 voted)

Reviews: 94% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Kerri Lueilwitz

Birthday: 1992-10-31

Address: Suite 878 3699 Chantelle Roads, Colebury, NC 68599

Phone: +6111989609516

Job: Chief Farming Manager

Hobby: Mycology, Stone skipping, Dowsing, Whittling, Taxidermy, Sand art, Roller skating

Introduction: My name is Kerri Lueilwitz, I am a courageous, gentle, quaint, thankful, outstanding, brave, vast person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.